Hex of the Witch by Heather G. Harris

The Other Witch series, book 1

Amber DeLea is a woman of many layers. Unapologetically ambitious, strong, stern on the surface, but caring behind closed doors.

One of the things I love best about reading is when a book makes me feel like I’m learning along the way. And this book has that feel. I didn’t expect that in a fantasy! And although what I was learning was about a fantasy world, I love the mood and tone that it sets throughout the book.

Another thing I love is the way that titbits of information are fed to us throughout the story as teasers of things to come. Just a quick, offhanded comment, or a moment of internal dialogue, and suddenly a whole new aspect to the story has been revealed.

A couple of times I spotted the importance straight off. Others were more subtle, leaving me to have a ‘hang on, go back and read that again’ moment when I realised. We are introduced to many different facets of Amber’s life this way.

Bastion is also fascinating me. An assassin with morals. I feel there is a lot more to his story than what we’ve learned so far. I’m really enjoying the dynamic between him and Amber, as well as the progression of the interactions between them.

I can’t wait for the next installment! Thank you to Heather G Harris Author for my copy of this ebook. All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑